top of page

A Week's Reflection

Well I am officially back at home in Cleveland, Ohio, a much duller place to be. My plane landed at eleven p.m. last night, and I appeared so tired that my parents insisted that I looked awful (thank you mom and dad, what every daughter loves to hear). I am gloriously typing this from the comfort of my own bed, and I am so thankful to be able to relax my sore legs.

This trip was amazing, and it was definitely well worth the blisters and a terribly bruised knee (I am clumsy on wet subway stairs). I love college life and Miami University, but I constantly worry about the future. I have to admit, some of these bookings really stressed me out, because every person we spoke to was very adamant that it was necessary to have a blog, newspaper clippings, stellar grades, nine internships, a thousand prayers to god, more luck than the Powerball winner, and a close relationship with Barbara Walters in order to secure a job. I am very tempted to title my research paper “The World is Very Competitive,” but I’ll try my best to be more insightful.

I do think that these experiences have sparked more motivation, and I hope that I can achieve more writing this semester. I do really enjoy writing, and I never thought about just starting my own blog. I would have a lot of freedom to write about whatever I fancied, and that would be a lot of fun. I might not receive a huge audience, but at least I could show it to employers and say, “this is what I can do.”

Overall, these meetings gave me a greater insight about the growing digital world. I was also happy to see that print isn’t really dying like everyone thinks it is, and that many publications have found a way to keep their readership strong. A lot of people are skeptical about the job availability for journalism majors, but there are so many opportunities that aren’t always obvious. I have not decided whether I would like to pursue a more financial and business related career over a journalistic one, but it is nice to know that I can expand my horizons and increase my prospects.

Not only have I learned a lot, but I had a lot of fun. It was great to see Times Square, watch Stephen Colbert, and go to a Broadway show. These are memories I will have for a lifetime, and I consider myself very fortunate for the experience. Thank you, Professor Newberry!

Kelly O'Bryan and I representing out sorority, Chi Omega, in Times Square.


Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square

Caroline Hoffman

bottom of page